MunnaPraWiN
3 min readJan 27, 2020

Don’t Make Promises You can’t Keep

I was just sitting on a park bench in Berlin, suddenly for some unknown all my years of life flashed before me. Which got me thinking about promises I made and promises made to me, especially those who left me in life and who haven’t kept their promises of never leaving me alone.

People ask me why is it so hard to trust people. I ask them why is it so hard to keep a promise. Promises are worse than lies, if you cant keep them. Because with promises, you make others hope, hope for something that you´re not sure you can give.

How hard is it to just do what you say you are going to do? If you think there might be a problem, then the answer is simple: DON’T MAKE A PROMISE YOU’RE NOT SURE YOU CAN KEEP.

The proof that sticking to your word can be hard is en-grained in our society. The promise of friendship, love, marriage or just of life’s ability to continue to go on; we need promises sometimes to keep us moving forward. And we need a good promise message to keep us centered, realistic and hopeful about promises.Check out the below best promise story to give you a little more perspective regarding the importance of promises.

One cold night, A billionaire met an old poor man outside house. He asked him, “don’t you feel cold being outside, and not wearing any coat?” The old man replied, “I don’t have it but I got used to that.” The billionaire replied, “Wait for me. I will enter my house now and bring you one. “ The poor man got so happy and said he will wait for him.The billionaire entered his house and got busy there and forgot the poor man.

In the morning he remembered that poor old man and he went out to search for him but found him dead because of cold, but he left a NOTE, “When I didn’t have any warm clothes, I had the power to fight the cold because I was used to that. But when you promised me to help me, I got attached to your promise and that took my power of resisting.

MORAL: Don’t promise anything if you can’t keep your promise. It might not mean anything to you, But it could mean everything to someone else.

Promises being hard to keep doesn’t mean we should stop making them altogether. It just means we should be a little more careful about the promises we make.

At work, how many times do you hear promises from coworkers, clients, vendors, that you just KNOW will be broken? What a bad feeling that is! It might be something as innocuous as “I’ll look into that right away and get back with you.” When you don’t hear back, does that count as a broken promise? In my book, it does.

Be an honorable person, at work, at home, with your friends and family. Be that resource who can be trusted to keep your word. You’ll sleep better at night. Never make fake promise, Also Never make promises fake.